Reviews

Walk Wellington has been operating since November 1999, with increasing numbers of visitors to Wellington joining one of our guided walks.

If you would like us to add your review to this page,

please email us.

If you are a TripAdvisor member and would like to add your review to TripAdvisor,

please follow this link to connect to TripAdvisor

Reviews sent to our booking partner Bookit are also included here.

Read below what visitors say about Walk Wellington


I did the Heritage Cable Car walk tour with Russell today. I was the only person on the tour which turned out to be very fortunate for me.

Russell was a wonderfully knowledgeable, helpful guide. He obviously loves his city and has pride in showing it off.

I thoroughly enjoyed my tour and would highly recommend the tour and Russell! Thank you.

Kris from Australia visited December 2022

I loved my Walk Wellington tour with my guide Kit. I had a brief 24 hours in Wellington and this was an excellent, detailed showing of the main attractions of Wellington and a history of such a beautiful city - not to mention local insights and anecdotes into various buildings and artwork, and suggestions on what I need to come back to do and see. I would recommend for all who visit Wellington - whether only in the city for a short time, or even a longer trip. Perfect at the start of a trip to set up what you want to come back and look at and explore - and the chance to converse with a local with incredible local knowledge is invaluable!


Catherine from Tasmania visited November 2022


We took the walk today with Gerald. He is a wonderful walk host we enjoyed the walk thoroughly.

Luan from Singapore visited November 2022

I was lucky enough to be on a tour led by John L today. It was really interesting and informative. He knows so much about the history of the city it was a pleasure to listen to him.

Francis from UK visited November 2022

It was a fantastic tour, we were expecting a great tour, but not as fantastic as it was. Kudos and thanks for that!

We got to know a lot of history and you showed us a multicultural and multilayered Wellington, which we hadn't seen while walking around the city.

We will definitely let others know of Walk Wellington and recommend you to family, friends or people we know want to go there. It was an amazing experience and Wellington showed to be much more than we expected. A mandatory stop, that's for sure.

We got lucky to see so many illustrious people from Wellington and New Zealand in one day, we even saw the Mayor!!! Thank you so much!

Sara and João from Spain September 2022

We enjoyed so much our walking tour with Joyce! She was dedicated and passionate. She would answer all our questions and she had great stories and knowledge to share with us.

We liked Wellington so much and she contributed strongly to that. We will share our review in TripAdvisor.

Thanks so much!

Beatriz from Germany visited August 2022


Just wanted to say thank you very much for the wonderful time my Uncle who was visiting from Auckland had on your tour! The tour guide was Bev and she was very accommodating and understanding.

Although it was only him on the tour he clearly felt very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed it. I heard all about where he had been and what he'd learned for at least an hour in the evening!! I learnt quite a bit too!

Will definitely recommend your tour to other visitors to Wellington.

Anna from Auckland visited July 2022

Please thank your three guides - Peter, Joyce and Keith - for giving us all such a great experience!

We learned so many more things about our beautiful capital city - and I’m sure many of us will revisit places in the future!

I know I’ll be heading back to Old St Paul’s to look at those drawers of fabulous church embroidery- one of my passions! And also the art exhibitions/ tours of the art collections in our parliamentary buildings - another passion!

Thank you all for such a wonderful day!

Margie - on behalf of our Paraparaumu Combined Probus Club who had a personalised tour in May 2022

Tina was our guide on a Wellington walk on Saturday January 22. She was really good and we had a wonderful time. She was knowledgeable and very friendly. We could not have asked for a better guide.

Michael from NZ visited January 2022

It was a windy Wellington day and Val was great - she answered all the kids questions and worked "with" us along the walk (the kids were a bit tired at the end!). We especially liked the clock in the bank building and the architecture of the supreme court which we would never have known about!

Would love to come on another one (and am happy to recommend to friends too)

Tania from Petone visited 21 December 2021

I had a great morning walk with Russell. While I knew a little bit about Wellington, I had walked past so many things without really noticing them. Russell gave clear and concise information. I would highly recommend the walk as the best way to learn about Wellington. Thank you Russell!

Alex from UK visited 26 May 2021

Just a quick thank you for the tour yesterday, it was lovely! Carol was super friendly, knowledgeable and fun, me and my daughter we both enjoyed the tour and will definitely recommend you guys to others

Natasha from Wellington NZ visited 12 March 2021

We saw two buildings and their beautiful interiors we would not have known to visit on our own.

Sally from Canterbury NZ visited 25 September 2020

We booked this tour on a Saturday. Since there were no other booking we had a private tour experience.

George showed us around the city centre and taught us all about the history of buildings and artwork around Wellington. Good experience!

Felix from Waikato NZ visited on 4 July 2020

My husband and I are in NZ for just under three weeks (hopefully we’ll be allowed to fly home to the U.S. on March 29!). We are in Wellington for six nights, after spending some time in Auckland. We’ll then go on to Christchurch.

We decided to take a walking tour with Walk Wellington, to get an overview of the city, so that we’d have a better sense of the areas/museums/sites we’d like to focus on. We were fortunate to have a small tour group of seven, and a wonderful guide named Russell. He was friendly and very knowledgeable about the city. We saw parts of it we might not have stumbled upon on our own, and learned quite a lot about the city: politically, culturally, etc. Russell pointed out many public sculptures and explained their meaning to our group~I’m sure that I would have walked by many without really “seeing” them. And he talked about the Maori culture in NZ as well.

All in all, a terrific overview of this beautiful city by a very knowledgeable and amiable guide.

Ellen from USA visited on 18 March 2020

Great orientation tour fulfilling all our expectations. We were the only 2 who did an evening walk with volunteer Carol for 1.5/2 hours around downtown Wellington. Carol was delightful and informative, helpful and interesting as we strode around downtown Wellington route covering local history and current events finishing up at the War Memorial / top of Cuba Street as we had asked for. Many thanks for such a grand tour and for fulfilling all our expectations.

Donald from UK March 2020

Excellent walk sprinkled with anecdotes and we saw many sights we would not normally have noticed. Very well informed guide.

Harry from UK February 2020

Great tour! Wasn't too long and got to see important sites, and our guide Chris was friendly and informative.

David from NZ February 2020

Stella showed us the highlights of Wellington in a most professional manner. If you only have one day in Wellington, this is the experience to go for. We saw far more of the city than we would in normal circumstances.

John from UK February 2020

We had beautiful weather and our excellent guide Stella gave us an insiders history of the city . Well recommend this informative overview of Wellington

Yvonne from UK February 2020

Really enjoyed the tour. Great opportunity to see highlights of the city. Very interesting. Would recommend! Enthusiastic tour guide.

Meyada from NZ February 2020

We are huge fans of walking tours. We do one in every city that we visit. This tour was right "on par" with other walking tours that we have taken. Although we didn't take advantage of it, our guide generously offered to chat with people while she walked home along Cuba St.

Kelly from Canada February 2020

Thanks for some great hours with the guide Peter and the other tourists! Peter showed us the highlights of the city and also a historic background. And everything with great engagement. I don’t know, but if I would guess I think Peter was a teacher, and a popular one, before he retired. Thanks a lot!

Jan from Sweden February 2020

Voluntary guides ensure you get enthusiastic guides who are passionate about Wellington and in Peter, we were fortunate to have someone who combined those with knowledge and a willingness to take questions. We really enjoyed the walk and learned lots about the city that we would otherwise have missed.

Martin from Ireland February 2020

We thoroughly enjoyed our Walk Wellington tour with George, he was very experienced and knowledgeable and was more than happy to share his Wellington knowledge with us. Great value for money, would highly recommend.

Katrina from Australia January 2020

Very much enjoyed the guided walk around Wellington. I was familiar with some of the places but there were plenty of others I may otherwise have missed. Suzanne provided an interesting commentary throughout.

This is a great introduction to Wellington and fantastic value at $20 for 2 1/2 hours.

Pat from London U.K. January 2020

We had a lovely holiday in New Zealand and I just wanted to thank you for your volunteer Heather’s morning tour. It was a windy overcast Sunday but she kept up our spirits with her very informative and delightful local insights. Heather’s knowledge and friendly manner was a great way for our family of three to get an orientation of Wellington. She made the rest of our stay easy as we knew where we were in location to our hotel as we planned the rest of our sightseeing, dining and shopping. For future travellers, I’d recommend packing a light waterproof jacket, a cap/beanie and gloves for the nippy wind off the bay. And don’t be fooled by Heather’s mature years: wear good walking shoes as she kept us at a constant brisk pace for about 2 hours.

Mark and family from Sydney, Australia January 2020

Our friendly guide took us through Wellington, about 2 1/2 hours total. Saw things we would obviously find as tourists, but also other things we would have missed, plus general interesting background info. Recommend this. Great value.

Brian from Auckland NZ January 2020

Very interesting walk made even more enjoyable by Ross, the guide, who has encyclopaedia like knowledge of his city. Also easy to book on-line and meet up with the guide.

Derek from UK January 2020

Great tour, great length of time, very knowledgeable guide and great price. When you visit cities, you often don't know what you are looking at and can quite easily not even notice things. This tour is great for those that have never been to Wellington before or those that have already been to see the tourist "hot spots"

Ann from South Australia December 2019

We had a great tour with Val as our guide. She was really informative and very friendly. I enjoyed the information on what we could further explore which I did on a subsequent day, The walking tour was a great trigger to highlight other specific places like Bolton Cemetery which I never would have explored if she had not highlighted it to us. The tour was well worth doing!!

Glenys from NZ December 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed our walk with Suzanne. She pointed out many interesting sculptures and buildings that may otherwise have escaped our notice, and told us very interesting historical anecdotes. We were particularly taken with her ‘surprise’ at 11am!

Barbara from NZ December 2019

There were only two of us on this walk so we got a special tour. The tour was comprehensive and we got to see everything on the list and more. The guide was exceptional and knew everything we asked questions about. The walk was suitable for us over 65s and we would highly recommend it to other Wellington visitors.

Michael from Western Australia December 2019

Kit and Ken were great guides and showed us all around the sights in around 3 hours (even in the pouring rain). All very interesting and informative.

David from UK December 2019

Our guide Keith B is very hospitable and knowledgeable about the story of the city. Highly recommended.

Victor from Singapore December 2019

Just some feedback from this morning’s walk with Marcia: it was worth every penny, a really enjoyable informative tour at a good speed allowing plenty of time to see all the sights and ask plenty of questions. Marcia is very knowledgeable and made the whole experience fascinating - with lots of ideas of places to go back to and explore further. Thank you Marcia! We’ll certainly recommend this tour to our friends.

Joanne and Bob from England December 2019

Have been on several walking tours in different cities and have to say that this one (Gavin was our guide) stands out among all of them. Yes it is a Pre-pay tour ( as opposed to a Free tour that you pay for anyways at the end) but what it costs is in line with what you would give a guide anyways. And the funds you give (after expenses) goes towards the groups projects to help maintain historical and interesting items around Wellington. Gavin is a very informative guide in a variety of topics and kept things interesting during the whole tour. Definitely came away with a broad and thorough appreciation of Wellington.

Carl from Canada November 2019

Cannot say enough that's good about Val. Lovely, knowledgeable lady who gave us the most favourable impression of Wellington.

John from Canada November 2019

Wellington lived up to its reputation of being both wet and windy for our walk but our spirits weren’t dampened by a thoroughly enjoyable walk with Marcia. Very knowledgeable and friendly, we felt instantly at home and we felt like we were spending time with an old friend. Thanks Marcia for a great walk in your beautiful city. Highly recommended.

Sandy & Ian from Australia November 2019

Good insight into Wellington, history and government

Tour leader was very knowledgeable and friendly.

James from USA November 2019

Just a short note of thanks what a wonderful tour provided. George is a national treasure. Judith too

Lovely lovely people with so much Wellington knowledge. Best money ever spent and so so enjoyable. Thanks for your help. You are all a credit to the City and your jobs.

Steve from Australia November 2019

We had a very interesting walk with our guide George, who showed us in more than 2 hours known and unknown places of interest in Wellington and told us lots of details about the City and NZ - we can definitely recommend it!

Frank from Germany November 2019

We thoroughly enjoyed our walking tour with Carol. Apparently she was fairly new to the role but that wasn't apparent as she was excellent. Lots of information about what we saw but also locations to eat and drink.

Judy from UK November 2019

It was a wonderful day, and the weather was gorgeous. Very little wind and the sun was beaming down. George was such a knowledgeable and helpful guide. He taught us a lot about Wellington, in areas where we had all visited many times but knew very little about. He gave the students some excellent inspiration for their performance work. We would like to extend our warmest thanks to him.

Group from Freyberg High School Palmerston North Nov 2019

We had a wonderful walk in glorious sunshine and no wind. Our guide was Marcia who was very enthusiastic and engaging- it was delightful to be in her company - I would highly recommend the walk.

Michael and Virginia from Australia November 2019

We would deeply thank to Marcia for the today‘s tour she guided with us. We learned a lot about Wellington its culture and interesting history. We are happy we could be part on this tour.

We can honestly recommend to visitors joining Walk Wellington.

Margrit and Juerg, from Switzerland October 2019

Really nice tour. Heather was full of great information and very friendly. Good duration. If possible you might try to book not on a Sunday as several buildings you would otherwise go in are closed on Sundays!

Lauren from USA November 2019

On Thursday morning, 3 October, our Australian group of 6 women was conducted by Peter on a walk focussed on the Art Deco buildings of Wellington. Peter was interesting, knowledgeable, charming and courteous. I would recommend him highly.

Jennifer from NSW Australia October 2019

(Note that this was a special prearranged walk. To arrange a walk like this please email information@walkwellington.org.nz four weeks in advance)

On Wednesday 11th Sept 2019 a group of three females were shown the city, two from the UK and myself from Christchurch NZ.

George our guide was very informative, and friendly, showing us some real gems, the old bank shopping centre clock, and the supreme court kauri cone design; to mention a couple. I will definitely recommend the walk to my daughter, who frequently visits Wellington in connection with work.

Joan from Christchurch NZ September 2019

It was a very informative tour, I learned a lot about Wellington and New Zealand as well, and got to know interesting facts I would had never known if I just walked the city by myself. Highly recommended no matter if you are visiting Wellington for the first time or ever you've been there before.

Megumi from Japan June 2019

I just wanted to say how much I enjoyed the walking tour on 2 May 2019. Peter was our guide, he was friendly and organised and gave us a great tour of the city. He was incredibly knowledgeable about the local area, the history and the architecture and showed us so many interesting building and statues. He went way beyond what I expected with his knowledge and how he explained the historical developments in the city was amazing.

Jan from Australia May 2019

The tour guide Peter was absolutely amazing! Having lived in Wellington for over a year, I already knew a little bit about the history of the city. So I was absolutely blown away by how much Peter knew! He was clearly knowledgeable and had a very precise understanding of the history and architecture of Wellington - yet he never just spurted out dates and facts. Instead, it was all weaved in interesting tales, stories, and anecdotes which brought these facts to life. Peter is a natural story-teller and is clearly passionate about his work. Thank you so much for the amazing tour, you have made me appreciate this beautiful city even more.

Jen from Wellington May 2019

We spent one day in Wellington while cruising the area. We were fortunate enough to get a walking tour with Heather. She was very informative. It was easy to see that she is passionate about her city. We really thought this was one of the best informational tours that we have ever been on. Thank you!

David and Sue from USA April 2019

Our family did a Wellington walking tour with Val yesterday and found her to be a great guide. She stopped often enough to tell us interesting things. It was good going inside some public building too. She worked hard to engage with my pre-teen girls. Her voice was clear and easy enough to hear. Great guide, great tour.

Four guests from Australia April 2019

During a short stay of only a few days, one of the best ways to get under the skin of a city is to avail yourself of a local person who is passionate about their city, their country, able to share information about culture, history, architecture and ‘local knowledge’ not normally available in a guide book. So what better way than using the services of volunteers who are the backbone of “Walk Wellington”.

Thank you, Marcia, for our walk on Sunday 14th April 2019. You shared your heart and passion with us in a gracious way and gave us a glimpse underneath the surface of life in your city, which, as visitors, we were unlikely to have uncovered for ourselves. A most informative, insightful and interesting walk.

Grahame & Barbara from the UK April 2019

Just wanted to to write it let you know that my husband and I took a walking Wellington tour this morning with your guide Keith R and we were delighted with the quality of the tour and guide. Keith was very informative, warm, knowledgeable and was able to pack in such an awful lot of sites and information way beyond our expectations. He brought Wellington to life for us.

We had a lovely time, thank you so much and great value for money.

Wendy and Rob from UK April 2019

Earlier this month my friend and I were very fortunate in being able to join a small group doing a walk around Wellington. Our guide was George and the tour he took us on was fantastic - it was culturally and historically informative, with lots of quirky bits and pieces thrown in for good measure! The tour lasted almost 3 hours but time seemed to just disappear as we moved from each place of interest!

This is the 2nd Wellington Walk I have done (the first 13 years ago) and I cannot recommend them highly enough. Excellent value all around.

Rosalie from Australia March 2019

We had a wonderful guide around Wellington’s waterfront and other key sites yesterday, Sunday 17 March.

Marcia was passionate and informative, took care of us sensitively and was a perfect guide. We enjoyed her many amusing anecdotes and moving stories, and appreciated her love for the city.

Michael and Jenny from UK March 2019

We were very fortunate to have Stella as our tour leader today for this enjoyable tour. Stella was able to give us specific detailed information and related stories about sites within Wellington. It was a very informative and enjoyable tour. She provided information regarding other tours that we are now planning to attend. She suggested some venues for lunch. We attended the National Library and had a very nice lunch. We now know the stories behind the places we have walked past and not really known what they represented. Thank you so much Stella. We love Wellington, thanks to you!

Janis and Bob from Australia March 2019

My wife and I were on a visit from the UK, and arrived in Wellington on 14th February.

On Friday 15th we had a guided walking tour led by John M.

It was excellent! John was interesting, informative and clearly very committed to showing us a comprehensive view of the city.

We enjoyed the tour very much indeed.

Jonathan and Delia from UK February 2019

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our morning walk with Ken

He obviously knows his city and it is such a great way to get information on a city from a person who has actually has grown up there.

Keep up the good work and congratulations Ken on a job well done (and that's not bad from an Aussie)

Bob and Carol from Australia March 2019

My husband and I, visitors from Canada, thoroughly enjoyed our walking tour with John L this morning. He was full of information and enthusiasm about Wellington. There were secrets, history and knowledge that he shared with us for a full 2 and 1/2 hrs. It was a great way to appreciate Wellington and get ourselves oriented. So pleased to have someone share their love of their home city and country.

A real bargain, as are the numerous public exhibits‎.

Anne and John from British Columbia, Canada, March 2019.

My husband and I joined the walking tour on Tuesday 19th February 2019 with Keith R as our guide.

It was a great tour and Keith R was a great guide giving us lots of info about the history/architecture/buildings/places of interest etc. It was a great introduction to Wellington - a good pace and Keith was professional and friendly.

Would definitely recommend this tour - excellent value for money too - thanks to all the team and especially Keith!!

Amanda & Colin from UK February 2019

I really enjoyed this tour. Our guide, George, was well informed and shared his knowledge eloquently. He acted courteously throughout the walk. He gave a very balanced view of progress through out the years.

It was a delight to have so many aspects of your city explained.

Sharon from UK February 2019

We are tourists from the U.K. and arrived in Wellington yesterday evening. John M’s walking tour of the city, which we joined on impulse, provided the best introduction to Wellington that we could have wished for. He gave us a great sense of place, of local history, and of the history of the buildings he took us to. Nuggets of information about New Zealand society and politics were slipped in unobtrusively; all our questions were answered. Everything was delivered in an informal, friendly style that was eminently suited to our small group of 9 people. We would strongly recommend this experience to any new visitors to Wellington: at $20 per person for 2 hours and more, it is well worth it! And good to know that the income all goes into the conservation and development of the city’s heritage.

Graham and Jill, England February 2019

There were four of us on this tour, and we thought our guide Keith R was very very good. We will certainly recommend everyone to go with your tour - it was great!

Lynne, Peter, Babs and Ted from England February 2019

The Walk Wellington Tour led by volunteer, Peter, got our stay in this interesting city got off to a great start. Peter, a local resident, took us all around the city center, sharing his remarkable knowledge of history, architecture and art with our group. Walk Wellington split our tour group into two so that our group size was relatively small, just 6 participants. Peter was happy to answer our many questions. A bonus was his dry sense of humor which made for both a fun and informative walk. We also learned about other attractions to make effective use of our short time in Wellington.

Marg from Colorado USA January 2019

My wife and I from Buffalo,NY USA took your walking tour today. Our guide Gerald was great!! He had a lot of good information on the area. Also kept us very safe while crossing the streets. He was great with our questions.

Steven from USA January 2019

We had a marvellous 2 1/4 walk through Wellington with John M who was an entertaining, enjoyable guide. Our feeling is, to know a huge quantity about Wellington. And we have seen all what we want and more. The profound knowledge and the kind of working with us was great. Thanks very much.

Klaus from Germany December 2018

We joined Marcia’s walk on Saturday 15 December. We loved her warm welcoming manner and her amazing collection of stories to illuminate the facts of Wellington’s history. A wonderful introduction to our new home away from home. Thank you.

Megan from Australia December 2018

The four of us on the tour found Keith B to be friendly, well informed and articulate. The tour was excellent value for money and gave us a great introduction to NZ and Wellington in particular.

Ivan and family from Australia December 2018

I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed our guided walk with Judith yesterday. She was a very pleasant lady and very knowledgeable about your city. It was a pleasure to meet her and we learnt lots of things we wouldn't have done had we walked around by ourselves.

Angela from Canada November 2018

I went on the Friday walk with Margaret. I found Margaret excellent in imparting her knowledge of what we were sighting but also general information about Wellington and open to questions. I enjoyed the walking and talking pace.

Graham from Auckland NZ October 2018

My wife and I did a Walk Wellington tour today with Margaret as our guide. We thoroughly enjoyed it, seeing places we would never had discovered and learning fascinating facts about the history of Wellington that no guide book could give us. We really recommend this tour for any Wellington visitor. Margaret was excellent.

Neil from Tasman District NZ October 2018

Me and my 2 friends were in the walking group with Marcia last Thursday 11th October.We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Marcia was very knowledgeable and informative. We learnt so much about Wellington that you could never get from reading a guide book.

Marcia went out of her way to show us different things and made sure everyone was included and involved. She was a lovely person and her love of Wellington definitely showed through.

I will definitely be recommending the walking tour to my family and friends who are heading to Wellington. It was such good value for money and such a great way to walk the city and find out more of its interesting history.

Karen from NZ October 2018

Today I had the pleasure of Keith B on your tour of Wellington. We were a small group of just three & we all agreed we had a fantastic morning!

Your beautiful city lived up to its reputation with the winds blowing us hard, but that did not deter Keith from giving us a great time. He was incredibly knowledgeable about the history of the city, the buildings and the sculptures! We actually went over time he was telling us so much!

Highly recommend this tour for old & new visitors...you’ll learn something new each time!

Thanks so much Keith B.

Briony from Perth, Australia October 2018

Took a walking tour with our guide Tina, who was a fount of information on Wellington and NZ history. She provided really thoughtful commentary and suggestions, and the time passed really quickly yet we covered a lot of ground in just 2.5 hrs. I have a great respect for her and other volunteer tour guides who do it because they love it (and it shows). I took her recommendation to visit the National Library for the exhibit on the three historic documents that have shaped NZ, and that gave even more meaning to what she showed us on the tour. It was a great intro to Wellington!

Consuelo from Argentina visited August 2018

I would like to say that the guided walk I did with John M on the 7th August was excellent, in fact it has set me up for my week here in Wellington. It enabled me to orientate myself as well as get a taster of things to go back and visit in depth. Also the historical/architectural facts were interesting and useful to know. I would thoroughly recommend this tour - $20 Well spent!

Glynis from USA August 2018

I ‘d like to make a comment on my tour guide Margaret, she is such a lovely lady and I had a wonderful experience with her. Although today I was the only one person in the tour in the morning 10 am, Margaret gave out a professional tour service, and she shared a lot of interesting local story with me, I am so glad I choose your tour. She was also been very thoughtful and took good care of me. It seems she knows all the interesting stories, really an expert! it made my trip so perfect and she will become the big part of my New Zealand beautiful memories!

I like your tour service and will share with my friends definitely!

Nancy from China June 2018

A great way to discover Wellington -its main cultural features and some out of the way wonders. Our guide John M related a good deal of information in an entertaining fashion. The time went very quickly and we feel we know Wellington much better for doing the walking tour. Certainly recommended.

Trevor and Carol from South Australia June 2018

I did a walk with Margaret on Monday this week. I was the only person on the tour and I enjoyed it very much. Margaret was a delightful guide. She is full of knowledge and ready to answer any question. Pace was gentle yet we covered so much ground. It was a very pleasant way to be introduced to the city . Thankyou.

Denise June 2018

I did one of your walking tours last weekend, 12th May and thought it was fantastic. I was actually the only person on the tour and was very impressed that it still ran, often there's a minimum number policy which can lead to you missing things if you're travelling alone. Marcia was a brilliant guide with an abundance of local knowledge, we had a lovely morning seeing the sights of Wellington. It was also great to receive some locals tips (I have since been to a couple of exhibitions that she recommended). Thank you.

Zoe from UK May 2018

We really enjoyed our walking tour of Wellington with John M, on the 16th March. He was most informative and interesting. Thank you.

Peter from UK March 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour today. Margaret was a very knowledgeable leader, who gave us a great overview of the city, its history, culture and built environment. She took the time to answer all of our questions and was a delight throughout. Excellent!

Michael from USA March 2018

I spent a day wandering around Wellington the day before, but learnt and saw so much more in the two hours of the guided tour. Highly recommended. Many thanks to John M for a very informative tour, and for tips on what else to see while I’m here.

Jill from Tasmania Australia March 2018

Hello! What a marvellous experience walking with Ross. We learned so much and loved every minute. Thank you❤

Robyn March 2018

We wanted to email to say how much we enjoyed our walk with George today. He was a very informative guide and helpful guide. The pace was perfect and we saw so many interesting places that we could have otherwise have missed. Three hours of our day in Wellington was very well spent on the walk.

Eileen and Bob March 2018

We took part in a 2 hour walk guided by Peter on Wednesday 21st February.

We thoroughly enjoyed the walk and the very informative and calm presentation during our walk.

As a result of the walk we learnt a lot about the city and its history, surroundings and buildings.

We often take a guided walk when we visit places around the world and Peter did an excellent job

Andrew from Australia February 2018

We just had a wonderful tour with Gerald! He was very knowledgeable and interesting, and the weather cooperated except for the wind at times.

Thanks again!

Tracey from Canada February 2018

We walked Wellington with our guide Lana today, and learnt a great deal about its history, land reclamation, earthquakes, government and much more. An excellent guided tour, thankyou Lana.

Jenny and Roy from Australia February 2018

We had a wonderful walk with Keith B on Thursday 1st February. He was so well informed, a great host and was obviously very proud of his city. There were only 4 of us that evening so had Keith almost to ourselves! Thanks for an enjoyable (if tiring) evening.

Christine from UK February 2018

I would like to pass on my appreciation for the walking tour I participated in today.

My tour guide was Stella, who was friendly, informative and made the experience very enjoyable. She was relaxed and responsive to her audience. I feel I have a much better understanding of Wellington, its people and history thanks to her knowledge and personable manner.

Suzanne from Australia January 2018

We enjoyed a very interesting glimpse of Wellington this morning.

Ronan and Michele from Ireland January 2018.

What a great morning tour! Stella was very knowledgeable and passionate about her city. Great way to see Wellington! Thanks

Susy and John from Australia January 2018

Our guide was Stella and we found her to be excellent and was a great way to see the city highlights which otherwise would have been missed. $20 well spent.

Rod and Di from UK January 2018

My wife and I were so fortunate to be the only two guests on this morning’s (2 Jan) walking tour with John M. John was delightful, knowledgeable and very personable. We enjoyed our time with John immensely, and will be submitting a 5-star review on Tripadvisor once we return home. Thank you so much for offering such a wonderful service and providing us such an excellent guide as John M.

Mark and Mary Beth from USA January 2018

Just before Christmas we went on the Walk Wellington tour with our guides, Kit and Ken. I have lived in Wellington for over 40 years and did not expect to learn so much about this city. Our guides were great, thoroughly entertaining and their knowledge of Wellington city was impressive. We really enjoyed ourselves and I felt very proud to live in this city. I think Wellingtonians should all take this tour! Thank you, Kit and Ken, for a super morning.


For earlier reviews please go to the archived Reviews page

Writers Walk and boatsheds