Reviews


If you would like us to add your review to this page,  please email us.    

If you are a Trip Advisor member and would like to add your review to Trip Advisor,
please follow this link to 
connect to Trip Advisor 


Read what visitors say about Walk Wellington

On Monday 30 October we went on the Wellington walk with John L.

I would like to thank him and your company for a very informative and entertaining walk.  We learned lots about Wellington as he pointed out various things along the way which we would otherwise have missed.

I have since recommended your walk to others and will continue to promote it as we were most impressed.

Brian from UK October 2017


We went on a guided walk yesterday, 29th October, guided by Marcia.
She told us a lot about the city and its history and answered all our questions as we walked.
We really enjoyed the experience and would recommend the walk to visitors. It’s a great way to get orientated in the city and learn a lot as you go.

Sylvia from UK October 2017

My guide, Gavin, was great. He was fun and personable with great knowledge and insight to share about both the history and contemporary events dealing with Wellington. Although I'm sure all of your walking guides are quite competent, I feel very lucky to have had Gavin showing me around that day. I will easily and gladly recommend the walking tour in the future to other travelers.

Edward from Melbourne Australia September 2017

Thank you so much for your time and for leading around Wellington a group of university students. We really enjoyed getting a feel for the city! Thank you also for helping us complete our scavenger hunt and for even posing in one of our pictures! We weren't the first ones to turn it in, but we think we did well so there may be some bonus points to be awarded!!

I really liked when you took us down into the building and we saw what archeologists had uncovered while they were excavating. I also thought it was neat seeing where the shore line was in the 1800s and how we were on reclaimed land. Without you, we wouldn't have learned any of that.

Rachel, Katie and the rest of the Michigan State Study Abroad group August 2017

Wonderful few hours with Tina...despite gale force winds and torrential rain. I'm a local Wellingtonian and a walker but I still learnt several things. Our guide was ideal in her knowledge, passion and warmth.

Paula from Wellington New Zealand August 2017

 

I just wanted to say thank you so much for the fabulous tour today! My husband and I had Kerry and she was warm, welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. We learn't so much about your beautiful city in 2 hours and it was one of the highlights of our trip! We thoroughly recommend this to all visitors.

Louise and Gareth from Auckland New Zealand June 2017

It has been a great pleasure to have Margaret as my tour guide today, you know just two of us makes me feel very much privileged.

It's such a brilliant experience to walk around in the heart of Wellington with someone like you who knows this city so well to tell all the fascinating stories.

I definitely gained a much closer look to Wellington and I believe I know the city much better now than many other tourists, which I must give credit to you and the lovely tour

Angela from Beijing China April 2017


This is to say a big Thank You to John L who took us on a guided walk around Wellington on Friday 3rd March.  It was such an informative and interesting 2+ hours that just sped by.  John not only talked to us about Wellington but also about the wider history of life in New Zealand.
 
The information that John gave us made us really appreciate the city (I just love the Katharine Mansfield sculpture!) and look beneath the surface to see the way that the city had been shaped and formed and what it has achieved recently and what it faces in the future.  Because of John's obvious love and enthusiasm for the city we felt privileged to be on one of his walks - we ate in Smiths The Grocer that day and took a tour of the Beehive the next day.
 
We really enjoyed our time in Wellington and are certainly grateful that tours of such calibre are available.
 
Alan and Jackie  from Gloucestershire, England March 2017.

Enjoyed our walkabout tour, informative and our Guide Darryl was great

Ngaire from Auckland NZ March 2017

Yesterday we walked around Wellington with Marcia. We had a wonderful time and were sorry to have the experience end. Marcia's knowledge of Wellington and New Zealand runs deep.

She was able to answer all our questions and shared lots of fascinating historical facts. We would have enjoyed chatting with her for a lot longer.

Walk Wellington is a great program and I would highly recommend all visitors take advantage of it.

Mike and Marty from USA January 2017

Great tour. Peter was our guide. He was  excellent, informative, amusing and friendly.

Rod from UK January 2017

Awesome. Very knowledgeable and personable. Great evening stroll. Thanks from Goombungee

Cathy from Qld Australia December 2016


Hi, just a note to say that we were on the tour this morning with Peter our host.

What a superb two and a half hours was enjoyed by all three of us with Peter engaging, relaxing and always informative. As first time in Wellington we needed a basis to be able to maximise the rest of our stay and Peter gave a context to the City.

The pace was spot on and Peter a charming host as we walked the city. We can only commend the tour and thank you for providing us with such a terrific guide.

  Paul, Deborah and Tahlia from UK November 2016

Wellington est une ville riche en terme d'histoire et de patrimoine. Nous avons été guidés par Heather qui est une véritable encyclopédie.
Un très bon moment, à ne pas manquer!

Jean-Pierre from France October 2016

Today Kerry walked us around Wellington. She made this tour very special to me, because she told and showed us a lot of extra things, as for instance the green light near parliament, indicated trees or the old seashore on the pavement etcetera. I was very pleased after these two hours. These little things like Kerry told us enlighten the spark for a city. Thank you very much again. 


Hanna from Switzerland October 2016


Our guide, John M, met us right on time. He was very knowledgeable and had great stories and facts to share. Our walk covered the waterfront as well as the historical and government buildings.

Kirstie from USA July 2016


Had a really great walk round Wellington yesterday. George gave just the right amount of information and set the perfect pace. I will certainly revisit some of the places for longer now that I know that they exist.
Please pass on a big thank you to George and I will be recommending you to residents and visitors alike.

Janie from UK July 2016

I recently did a guided walk with Keith R and I just wanted to say how much I enjoyed it. Very informative. A good way to start my stay in Wellington. 

 
Susan from UK July 2016


On Monday, 9th May my husband and I did the guided walking tour around Wellington.
We both found it an excellent walk and very informative.
Gerald, our guide was very good indeed and we would thoroughly recommend this tour to our friends.
 
Rosalie from New Zealand  May 2016

My son and I went on the tour yesterday 21st.  Val was our guide. She was lovely, welcoming and very informative. It was a great way to familiarize ourselves with and get our bearings in this city.

Rita from Sydney Australia April 2016

Today we had a lovely time walking around Wellington.  George taught us many interesting things about Wellington and we are sure to recommend to others for when they pop down!

Milica & Sofija from Auckland NZ April 2016

We had only 1 1/2 days to see Wellington so we needed to see the highlights in a relatively short period of time. Walk Wellington and especially our guide, Kit, filled the bill to a "T." She was extremely knowledgeable and personable and covered downtown Wellington perfectly. In short, awesome!

Bob from USA March 2016

We always take the local walking tours when we travel to new places. Chris took us to many places and we got a look at the architecture, local stories and stories of New Zealand, current and historical information. It was a busy time with a cruise ship in and the tour added guides so we were not in a too huge group. Top notch tour.

Loren from USA March 2016


Thank you for a wonderful morning walking around Wellington.  We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and it has made us want to do more of these when we return in the future.  We saw things that we would never have found on our own and wish that we had done the tour at the beginning of our trip rather than at the end.

Penny and Phil, from UK March 2016

I really enjoyed the tour with Val. She is friendly and has an excellence knowledge about Wellington. For more than 3 hours, she showed us this marvelous city. Thank you, I can highly recommend Val and the tour.

Heike, from Germany, March 2016

I've just done the Walk Wellington with Kerry as our guide and it was fantastic! A lot much better than just walking around the city on your own, because with the guide's comments and explanations you get to learn a lot about the city.
Kerry, the guide, was all the time really kind and friendly. She really worried about showing us the city at its best, giving clear explanations and giving us the opportunity to ask any questions we had. Very friendly, funny and informative. I just loved the walk and all the information I got in it. A great way to go around the city!

Guillermina from Argentina March 2016


I went on a walk last month with Jenny as a guide.
I thought Jenny did a great job. I happened to be the only person on the tour on that occasion, but Jenny did not lose a enthusiasm as well, and gave me a full comprehensive tour and perhaps more. (We did modify it slightly, on my request because I had a train to catch).

I had been recommending this tour to my mates in Wellington. There was a fair bit of information in there that even my Wellington mates did not know about, having lived there most of their lives.

Mayin from Australia February 2016

Just wanted to let you know that we found the walk with Val very interesting! She gave us sights of Wellington we would have missed ourselves, along with the history of the development of Wellington which
explained a lot of the curiosities of this city.
During our walk she was also careful to ensure we were safe and comfortable,and was sure to include everyone in the conversation.
Great work! 
Jen from Australia February 2016
I was part of a group who undertook the Wellington walking tour this morning led by Lana.

I would like to say how much I enjoyed it.  Lana was very knowledgeable and provided a comprehensive and interesting tour covering the history as well as more recent events.  She answered questions from everyone and checked people's understanding.  She readily conversed in French with some of the group members.

I would recommend this tour as a good introduction to Wellington.  I spent the afternoon visiting other places Lana had recommended
.


Joy from UK January 2016


Today my husband and I went on a walking tour of Wellington. Our lovely host, Heather, was most informative and catered for all members of the group. I highly recommend the walking tour as you learn so much about the city. It was well worth the cost.

Kay and Don from Australia January 2016


Having arrived off  the Interisland ferry last night Gerald provided the perfect orientation to Wellington . The pace and detail were perfect, even down to  arriving at the famous clock at 10:58 so we could see the spectacular hour chimes. Well done, and excellent value! Thanks.

Andy and Anne from UK November 2015

 This is to report that we had an excellent time with Walk Wellington on Friday, 6th November, 2015.

Our guide was Keith B. and it was his first time as guide and he did a really good job.  This was particularly impressive because the All Blacks Victory parade intercepted the usual route so Keith had to be creative and adaptable.  He was also willing to let our group (6 of us total) stop to watch the parade since this was a unique opportunity for us visitors.

We would highly recommend this tour and we would certainly recommend Keith B. as guide.

 Alison and Randall from USA November 2015


Just to let you know that I went on a guided walk with Judith on Saturday 24th October 2015.  I really enjoyed the tour and I think Judith did an excellent job of showing us the sights of the city.  I especially enjoyed the mechanical clock.  I also appreciated her telling us about the cable car up to the Botanic Gardens, I would probably have missed that without her input.
 
Janet from Australia  October 2015

My husband and I took part in a walking tour with John L. on Monday 5th October.  Even though we were the only two walkers, John gave us a very full tour, with the added benefit of his excellent knowledge of the geography and history of the area.

We thought the mix of buildings, art and landscape features together with John's commentary made for an interesting and informative walk.  We saw so much more than we would have from a vehicle.

We have no hesitation in recommending a guided walking tour to any visitors to Wellington.

Ngaire and Doug from Invercargill NZ October 2015


My wife Sue and I enjoyed the walk very much. George was a fount of knowledge and his background info. made all the difference. We enjoy Wellington as a city and are glad it has saved at least some of its old buildings.

Ray and Sue from ACT Australia September 2015


 
I had a fascinating morning with Erina, I have been to Wellington many many times myself and have an understanding of a lot of Wellington's history and sites. I particularly wanted to take the tour so that I knew what the customers would be getting themselves in for should I recommend them doing the walk. 
What I didn't expect however was so many little titbits and information that I didn't know
about Wellington so I actually got a lot out of it personally, as well as experiencing what it will be like for customers. 
As it turns out I was the only person so it was even better again, like a personalised tour. I think her knowledge about Wellington, her general mix of architecture, art, Maori history and the like is very good for a walking tour guide and I will be recommending this to my customers.

Ed from Western Australia (Travel Agent) July 2015


On Thursday, 23 July, I took the walk with Ruth. It was indeed a great value, and made exploring the city much easier than if I used a guidebook. I would recommend the Walk to any visitor who likes to walk, and expresses a keen interest in seeing the best of your city. It worked well for me because I asked many questions about how I could supplement the Walk with my own wandering. For any tourist seeking an interactive experience, this one cannot be beat. I would not suggest it to anyone who is not an enthusiastic walker, or does not possess any interest to learn more on his own. That said, at $20 it is a bargain.

William  from USA July 2015


I am a visitor from China. It's my first time to visit Wellington, and know this walk tour from the official visitor guide. Walk Wellington is such a great and efficient way to get some knowledge about the capital's history, sights and culture. Many thanks to Lana, our tour guide today, she is very professional, friendly and helpful!

Lina from China July 2015


Did your walking tour with Marcia today. Very knowledgeable and fun. Will definitely recommend you guys. Keep up the good work.

Marcia from UK July 2015


I wish to let you know how much I enjoyed Peter's guided tour of Wellington, it was an excellent introduction to the city.  He is relaxed, knowledgeable and fun.  Thank you.

Jan from Australia June 2015


We do these types of walks all over the world, and found the Wellington walk to be both informative and enjoyable. It gave us a good understanding of the history of Wellington as well as a good idea of what we wanted to do while we were in Wellington. I'd highly recommend this for others visiting Wellington.

Andy from USA February 2015


Whilst on the Dawn Princess New Zealand tour, we booked a "Wellington Walk" with your group on Thursday 5th of February.
 
Our guides were Kit & Ken, and we found them to be most knowledgeable of Wellington history, both past & present.
 
We really enjoyed our tour and they were so much fun to be with.
 
I will recommend your tour to any one going to Wellington and I would like you to thank Kit & Ken for a wonderful morning.
 
 
Barb & Greg  from Australia February 2015

 

We would like to let you know that we had such a good time with Ross. He has so much knowledge about Wellington and showed us all these interesting sights and told us the entire stories about them. Behind each corner there was another surprise to discover and a stunning story told from Ross. He was the best tour guide we ever had and showed us all the places we wanted to know about. He was so kind to answer all our questions even when it took longer than 2 hours.
 
Herewith we would also like to thank him for his patience with us and the really great tour he did with us, we appreciated it very much. We can recommend Ross as tour guide very much.
 
Best regards from Switzerland
 
 Jürg and Rebecca from Switzerland December 2014


My wife and I have just completed the 2 hour walk, starting at the I-site at 10am. The guide, Lana, was brilliant and made it an unforgettable journey. 

Anthony from UK, November 2014


This was a great walking tour of Wellington.  In just 2 hours we got a great overall view of the city with lots of interesting information that we wouldn't have got on our own.  Meeting point at the Visitor Centre in Civic square was easy to get to.

We would highly recommend this walking tour.

Joanna from NSW Australia September 2014


Thank you very much Gavin for a great walk through Wellington today and for providing our small group with a most enjoyable and informative time.

I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Wellington in the future

Joy from UK, September 2014


What an informative and enjoyable walk around Wellington under the friendly and knowledgable guidance of Peter.  From the art, the architecture, the geographical history, the Courts, parliament, the Waitangi treaty documents and even fortunate enough to end up at old St. Paul's cathedral to catch the end of a jazz trio's recital.  A comfortable walk well enjoyed.  Thank you, Peter.

Ken and Kay  from Brisbane, Australia, August 2014.


We went on the walk around Wellington with Gavin last Saturday, it was great, a very enjoyable experience, something we would recommend.  The weather was bitter, wind, rain and cold, but it didn't matter as the walk was so interesting, many thanks Gavin.

 Maree and Shane from Morrinsville, NZ, August 2014.

I came back from New Zealand for a week now, and thinking about the great experience I had there, Wellington walk is a highlight and I should write a thank you email to Ross.
I come from Shanghai, China, even English is not my native language, but I can understand Ross without any problem as he spoke so clearly. The walk helped me understand Wellington from so many different ways, history, architecture, politics... I found the walk is very worth the time, and Ross is so helpful and knowledgeable. He even suggested me some things to do on my own time, like the cable car, which turn out to another nice experience, to take the cable car and walk down the garden!
 Well, just like to sending my thanks.

Sophia  from Shanghai China May 2014


I wish to comment that a week ago, my wife and I took a walking tour of Wellington. We were impressed with the knowledge and insight provided by John M, our guide. He made the tour a fun experience.

Ernie and Mila  from California, USA April 2014 on APT tour


Really enjoyed our walk this morning with Margaret. Very informative without blinding us with too much info and unhurried . Our grateful thanks to Margaret
 
Ian & Sandra  from  UK April 2014 


A wonderful way to start our visit to Wellington, our friendly guide Marcia was well informed about the history of the city and surrounding area.  She took us to and explained some of the interesting sites Wellington has to offer.  She also suggested other venues which would be interesting to explore in our own time, which we did.  A very interesting and helpful walk and talk which made our visit to Wellington all the more enjoyable.

The Rosevears from UK April 2014


Our family of four had a fantastic walk in March, 2014 with Stella as our guide.  Stella provided an exceptional commentary on Wellington's history, government, culture, buildings, and people.  Highlights of the tour included the harbor and the waterfront, the largest wooden building in New Zealand and the large clock which displays historic panoramas on the hour. 

Thank you for providing a great tour and helping us get to know your wonderful city.

Ann,  Rod and family from USA March 2014


Excellent walk with Mark on Saturday 1 March.  Thank you

Nicola  March 2014


I want to say how much I enjoyed Gavin's tour of Wellington. He combined excellent knowledge of a city he clearly loved with anecdotes in an informative and entertaining manner. I learnt so much and gained a true insight into Wellington and NZ.  We explored several buildings in detail. I recommend this trip fully. One should not miss it. It was one of the highlights of the holiday and Gavin's expert guiding made it.

Sue from UK February 2014


Just wanted to thank John for tonight's walking tour and say how much we enjoyed meeting him.

His tour was very informative and interesting and a great way of quickly getting to know the city and its interesting history.

Thanks

Jon & Daria from London February 2014


I would just like to say thank you very much for the walk guided by Sheena. It was thoroughly engaging and Sheena's enthusiasm and knowledge readily shone through.

I thoroughly enjoyed the walk.

Thanks,

Allan from UK February 2014


We enjoyed our tour of Wellington VERY much and will be recommending Walk Wellington to our friends.

We learned a lot about Wellington and wish we could have spent more time discovering the city.

Sharon from Queensland Australia February 2014


I did your tour with George this morning and wanted to say how pleased I was with the tour.  It was very informative, educational and interesting.
 
Congratulations from a very satisfied customer!  Keep it up!

A visitor from Germany January 2014


We walked Wellington with Bob today. He is extremely knowledgeable and his presentation was very engaging. The tour ended slightly over time but we most willingly would have followed him many hours more!

Christine and Andreas from Germany January 2014


We joined the guided walking tour around Wellington last Sunday, 15 Dec 2013 and our tour guide was Marcia. She is very knowledgeable and made the walk most interesting.
There were several pieces of sculptures/art pieces along the walk and we felt it would be a good idea to put up a brochure listing down all the art and making it an art walk/trail.
Well done, Marcia and thank you for a very pleasant walk.
 
Richard and Shirley from Auckland December 2013


We did have an enjoyable day in Wellington and did join the guided walk. 
We enjoyed it very much.Thank you for all your help.

Gord a visitor from Canada on the Oosterdam November 2013


This was a most enjoyable and informative walk.  $20 well spent !!  Our guide Marcia brought the present, past and the future to life.  Her timing  to see the clock being to the second !!  I am so glad I went.

Robert  from Cambridgeshire, England  November 2013                                                


I would like to commend this organisation for making my visit to Wellington pleasurable. The day we took the tour with Bob it was raining heavily but this did not dampen our enthusiasm or Bob's for Wellington.  There were 6 of us, not connected by travel group or cruise ship and this made it interesting and diverse.  Bob’s knowledge was informative and gave us a greater understanding of Wellington.  I personally enjoyed the art and sculpture dotted around the town and architectural differences and what they meant, in the buildings.

Ange and Jill from Melbourne Australia November 2013
 

Loved the walk with Stella, nice pace, very informative, by someone who loves her city.
I particularly like the little side trips into museums, so I have a taste, I now will go back on my return trip to Wellington.
I aways do the walks in all the cities I visit, this time was special as your City in concentrated into a small area so I got a feel for almost the whole downtown.
Thank  you Stella.

Margaret from Toronto Canada November 2013


I would like to comment on yesterday’s guided walking tour around Wellington . As a former resident of Wellington , I found the guided walk led by Sheena to be very interesting. Sandra, who had never been to Wellington , thought the tour the perfect introduction to the city. The places that Sheena took us to were well chosen and provided a good balance between the past and the present. Sheena was an engaging, knowledgeable guide. Both the tour and Sheena are HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Gary and Sandra from Australia November 2013


Mark provided us a worthwhile experience.
Thanks.

Douglas from Colorado USA November 2013


Having just returned from 3 weeks in NZ, I am thinking about the highlights of our holiday. The walking tour of Wellington with Bob comes straight to mind as a great introduction to Wellington and New Zealand. Bob was full of fascinating information and was happy to answer all our questions which we were so full of. Thanks for making such tours available and thanks to Bob who is a wonderful guide.

Angela from NSW Australia July 2013


Wonderful and informative introduction to a beautiful city

Our tour guide was knowledgeable, informative, and had a reserved but readily apparent wry wit. We enjoyed her and our walk.  Exceeded expectations.

Scott from USA July 2013


Great walk.  Tour guide Betty gave a great tour.

Anthony from Victoria Australia June 2013


I joined the walking tour this morning because of the green brochure I found in my hotel....what a fortunate thing I did! Stella did a terrific job and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. I have not spent a better $20 in all of NZ! Some pictures attached, please thank her again for me.


Chris from USA  April 2013


Super informative and entertaining. The guide we had was very knowledgeable, and made the entire tour worth the price. I learned more about Wellington in 2 hours than I did about Auckland when I was there for three days.

Michael from Chicago USA April 2013




Walk Wellington tour, the way to go in New Zealand

Leonora discovered that the best way to see the waterfront and Parliament areas of Wellington is on foot. She joined the regular 10am walk from the i-Site Visitors Centre in Civic Square, and was thrilled to be shown around by her informative and enthusiastic guide Marcia.

Leonora from Vancouver April 2013


It was a last minute idea, but it was well worth it. A two hour walking tour of the city beginning at the i-Site Visitor Center and ending at the Old St Paul's Cathedral. It included going in and out of buildings to see the history of the city which you will miss by just walking down the street. The groups are about 10 - 15 people. Remember to wear your walking shoes as it covers the city! The cost was $20. It departs at 10 am.

Gary from Grand Rapids, Michigan January 2013

I think the tour like this is very unique. Joining this tour helped me to understand the history of Wellington, and after the tour I could walk around Wellington by myself with no problem. This was a great experience and I am well satisfied.

Shizumi from Japan January 2013


Along with a friend we booked to go on the walking tour, and as we were the only two that day it was a very personalised tour. The walking tour was one of our highlights of Wellington, and we would not have seen so much of the architecture or found out about the history has we not have gone on the tour.

The tour was very well done and our guide Marcia amazed us with her knowledge, and we loved her little stories. Afterwards we went on the free tour of parliament as the guide recommended to us.

Edward from Glasgow October 2012


Great experience with a knowledgeable and friendly guide.  Walked around Wellington on a one-to-one tour (no one else booked) with interesting stories and art

Angie from Australia April 2012

 




We have been operating for over 10 years with increasing
numbers of visitors to Wellington joining a guided walk. 
If you would like us to add your review to this page,  please email us.    


If you would like to leave a review on Trip Advisor,
please follow this link to 
connect to Trip Advisor 




Writers Walk and boatsheds